Saturday, May 12, 2012

Chennai Super Kings stays in the hunt

Chennai Super Kings ride on a brilliant bowling performance by Ben Hilfenhaus to defeat the Delhi Daredevils at the at the MA Chidambaram stadium in Chennai today. Curtsy this win the defending champions keep their hopes alive of making the playoffs. Ben Hilfenhaus bowled brilliantly up front for his 3 for 27 stifling the Daredevils reducing them to 27 for 4 by the end of the power play, a point from which they never really recovered. The Aussie pacer gave the hosts a perfect start when he bowled Virender Sehwag in the very first over of the match
Chasing Just 115 to win the Super Kings started briskly with Michael Hussey and Murali Vijay putting on an opening stand of 75 runs in 61 balls, before Irfan Pathan knocked over Hussey who scored 38 in 32 balls. Murali Vijay was then joined by Suresh Raina and the duo was involved in an unbeaten partnership that took the Super Kings to an easy victory. The Super Kings overcame the modest total by the Daredevils in 15.2 overs losing just 1 wicket. Murali Vijay looked in good touch striking 5 fours and a 6 in his knock of 48, while Suresh Raina scored a breezy 28.
Batting first the Delhi Daredevils were rocked early and could manage just 114 in their allotted 20 overs thanks to a superb opening spell by Ben Hilfenhaus, who bowled with pinpoint accuracy. The Daredevils didn’t look nearly as comfortable setting a target as opposed to chasing, with Captain Virender Sehwag failing for the second time in a row, falling to Ben Hilfenhaus in the very first over for just 4 runs, David Warner, who scored a brilliant hundred against the Deccan Chargers fell soon after chipping tamely to mid-off giving Hilfenhaus 2 wickets in his first 2 overs.
Naman Ojha, then gave Hilfenhaus his 3rd wicket when he gloved a ball down the leg-side into the waiting arms of MS Dhoni. Mahela Jayawardene could manage just 8 runs in 10 balls before he was out to Albie Morkel and by the end of the power-play the Daredevils were crawling at 27 for 4. With the middle order exposed to a quality bowling attack, boundaries were hard to come by and it took 32 balls before the shackles were broken by Venugopal Rao who charged Ravindra Jadeja and lofted him over wide long-on.
Jadeja was taken off after one over, in which he conceded 11, the most expensive in the first ten overs. The Daredevil’s middle order was stifled by the spin twins R Ashwin and Shadab Jakati who were supported well in the field. Venugopal Rao and Yogesh Nagar added 48 at a run-a-ball before Albie Morkel pulled off a stunning catch at short cover to send back Rao for 27 runs in 24 balls.
Daredevils added only 36 in their last five overs giving the Super Kings a relatively easy target for victory. Yogesh Nagar and Irfan Pathan remained not out on 43 and 13 respectively.
Earlier The Chennai Super Kings won the toss and chose to bowl first in contrast to the prevous twelve occasions at the M A Chidambaram Stadium when they had chosen to bat after winning the toss. Captain MS Dhoni expected the pitch to play much the same for the duration of the match and wanted to the deny the strong Daredevil batting lineup a chance to chase.
The Super Kings made just one change to their side, with Shadab Jakati coming in for Yo Mahesh, while the Delhi Daredevils made a couple changes with Andre Russell making way for Roelof van der Merwe and Umesh Yadav returning to the side in place of Shahbaz Nadeem.
Delhi Daredevils:
1 David Warner, 2 Virender Sehwag (capt), 3 Mahela Jayawardene, 4 Naman Ojha (wk), 5 Yogesh Nagar, 6 Venugopal Rao, 7 Irfan Pathan, 8 Roelof van der Merwe, 9 Morne Morkel, 10 Varun Aaron, 11 Umesh Yadav
Chennai Super Kings:
1 Michael Hussey, 2 M Vijay, 3 Suresh Raina, 4 MS Dhoni (capt and wk), 5 Ravindra Jadeja, 6 S Anirudha, 7 Dwayne Bravo, 8 Albie Morkel, 9 R Ashwin, 10 Ben Hilfenhaus, 11 Shadab Jakati
Score Card
Delhi Daredevils innings (20 overs maximum)   R   B   4s  6s   SR
D Warner   c Ashwin b Hilfenhaus   8   9   1  0   88.88
V Sehwag*   b Hilfenhaus   4   2   1   0   200.00
N Ojha†   c †Dhoni b Hilfenhaus   3   11   0   0   27.27
M Jayawardene   c Hussey b Morkel   8   10   1   0   80.00
Y Venugopal Rao   c Morkel b Ashwin   27   24   0   2   112.50
Y Nagar   not out   43   47   1   1   91.48
IK Pathan   not out   13   17   0   0   76.47
Extras (lb 3, w 5) 8
Total (5 wickets; 20 overs) 114  (5.70 runs per over)
To bat RE van der Merwe, M Morkel, VR Aaron, UT Yadav
Fall of wickets 1-5 (Sehwag, 0.5 ov), 2-12 (Warner, 2.1 ov), 3-24 (Ojha, 4.6 ov), 4-24 (Jayawardene, 5.2 ov), 5-72 (Venugopal Rao, 13.2 ov)
Bowling   O   M   R   W   Econ
BW Hilfenhaus   4   0   27  3   6.75 (2w)
JA Morkel   4   0   15   1   3.75 (1w)
DJ Bravo   4   0   22   0   5.50 (2w)
SB Jakati   3   0   19   0   6.33
RA Jadeja   1   0   11   0   11.00
R Ashwin   4   0   17   1   4.25
Chennai Super Kings innings (target: 115 runs from 20 overs) R B 4s 6s SR
MEK Hussey   c Jayawardene b Pathan   38   32   5   1   118.75
M Vijay   not out   48   40   5   1   120.00
SK Raina   not out   28   20   1   2   140.00
Extras (w 1) 1
Total (1 wicket; 15.2 overs)   115 (7.50 runs per over)
Did not bat MS Dhoni*†, RA Jadeja, S Anirudha, DJ Bravo, JA Morkel, R Ashwin, BW Hilfenhaus, SB Jakati
Fall of wickets 1-75 (Hussey, 10.1 ov)
Bowling   O   M   R   W   Econ
M Morkel   4   0   31   0   7.75
UT Yadav   3   0   24   0   8.00 (1w)
VR Aaron   3.2   0   28   0   8.40
RE van der Merwe   3   0   17   0   5.66
IK Pathan   2   0   15   1   7.50


Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More