Tuesday, April 7, 2009

Lokshabha election 2009

4/7 News Network: Tamil Nadu holds much importance in South Indian politics. The national parties have limited stakes in Tamil Nadu. But they consider the state as important, as regional parties from this state play an important role in national politics. The UPA, which had won all 39 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu during the 2004 general elections, is in trouble now. The revival of Jayalalitha-led AIADMK and the split between PMK-MDMK-DMK-Congress is worrying the Congress much in 2009.

The Congress may rue its mistake that it had declined AIADMK's offer to contest the elections together and dump DMK. the PMK and MDMK have already left the UPA to join AIADMK. The Left parties CPI and CPM are with Third Front and AIADMK now. In addition, Vijay Kant's DMDK is all set to eat into the votes of DMK. There will be no surprise, if the AIADMK Front wins 35 out of 39 seats in the 2009 Lok Sabha elections.

Jayalalitha is in high spirits over her rising popularity and the anti-incumbency wave against the DMK. Karunanidhi is facing opposition from all quarters and may find it difficult to reverse the trend in Tamil Nadu.

Even during the 2004 general elections, AIADMK led the vote percentage with 29.77% followed by DMK at 24.60%. However, the party failed to win a single seat because the alliance between DMK, PMK, MDMK, Congress and Left, proved more powerful than the AIADMK-BJP alliance.

While the BJP may not be able to win a single seat in Tamil Nadu, as it does not have the backing of either DMK or AIADMK, the party is hopeful of forging a post-poll alliance with either party. The BJP had in the past worked with DMK, AIADMK, PMK and MDMK at different times. So, it won't be difficult for the party to woo Jayalalitha, who has some soft corner towards BJP's Hindutva politics.

Here are the Lok Sabha Constituencies in Tamil Nadu after Delimitation:

Tiruvallur, Chennai North, Chennai South, Chennai Central, Sriperumbudur, Kancheepuram, Arakkonam, Vellore, Krishnagiri, Dharmapuri, Tiruvannamalai, Arani, Viluppuram, Kallakurichi, Salem, Namakkal, Erode, Tiruppur, Nilgiris, Coimbatore, Pollachi, Dindigul, Karur, Tiruchirappalli, Perambalur, Cuddalore, Chidambaram, Mayiladuthurai, Nagapattinam, Thanjavur, Sivaganga, Madurai, Theni, Virudhnagar, Ramanathapuram, Thothukkudi, Tenkasi, Tirunelveli, Kanniyakumari.


Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More